Seven new varieties of wheat classified for 2022-23

Grain Central, July 28, 2022

Suntop has gained classification for the Southern as well as Northern zones for the 2022-23 season. Photo: AGT

SEVEN new varieties of wheat have been classified as part of the 2022-23 Wheat Variety Master List, including six Premium Hard milling varieties and one Durum variety. In addition, two new feed varieties have been introduced.

Grains Australia general manager, classification Megan Sheehy said the release of the 2023-23 Wheat Variety Master List was the continuation of crucial work to improve the competitiveness of Australian wheat worldwide and ensure its quality.

“Maintaining a market-driven variety classification system for wheat that delivers for customers and producers is a core focus for Grains Australia following our integration with Wheat Quality Australia earlier this year,” Dr Sheehy said.

“Grains Australia is pleased to continue delivering the key technical function for the Australian wheat industry that is the Wheat Variety Master List.”
The six new PH varieties classified are: Boree; Brumby; Calibre; Jillaroo; LRPB Anvil, and Willaura.

Gaining durum classification is DBA Mataroi, and Big Red and RGT Cesario are now classified as feed varieties.

Variety upgrades include:

  • Suntop and Sunmaster to Australian Prime Hard (APH) in the Southern Zone;
  • Ballista to Australian Hard (AH) in the Northern Zone;
  • Hammer CL Plus to Australian Premium Noodle (APWN) in the Western Zone;
  • Longsword to Australian White Wheat (AWW) across all zones;
  • HAW1 has been classified as Australian Innovative Wheat (AIW).

After being flagged for removal in 2020, and after a long period of consultation with industry, nine varieties have been removed from the 2022-23 Wheat Variety Master List.

Based on decreasing production thresholds, four varieties are planned for removal in 2023.

They include: Diamondbird; Envo;, Kunjin, and Wedin.

In 2024, 19 varieties are planned for removal including: Impose CL Plus; Justica CL Plus; Forrest; Preston; EGA Eagle Rock; Ellison; GBA Sapphire; EGA 2248; Carnamah; Kennedy; H45; Sunlin; Petrel; Sunbrook; Stiletto; Sunbri;
Sunco; Spear, and Halberd T/N.

The reclassification of Strzelecki to Australian Premium White (APW) is planned for 2024 in the South Eastern and Northern Zones.

The 2022-23 Wheat Variety Master List comes into effect on Monday, and contains the names of all current varieties approved by Australia’s wheat classification process.

Following the integration of Wheat Quality Australia into Grains Australia earlier this year, this classification process is managed by Grains Australia.

The Master List records the highest possible grade available for respective varieties and is updated annually, forming part of each season’s Grain Trade Australia (GTA) Wheat Standards.

Source: Grains Australia


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Grain Central's news headlines emailed to you -