Ag professionals accreditation scheme another step closer

Grain Central, December 6, 2017

THE body representing agricultural and natural resource management professionals, Ag Institute Australia (AIA), has revealed further details of the first step towards a national accreditation scheme for industry professionals.

AIA chair, Andrew Bishop.

AIA’s Certified Practising Agriculturist (CPAg) program allows industry professionals to be recognised for their skills, knowledge, experience and adherence to best practice.

The scheme underpins the confidence of the public and the profession that the advice and services provided by CPAg’s promote best practice standards.

CPAg helps participants document and demonstrate their Continuing Professional Development (CPD) and is the entry point for AIA members to seek full accreditation as a Chartered Agricultural Professional.

The revised and modernised CPAg system is part of the evolving accreditation system announced in October 2017, and has been developed by AIA.

CPD points will be used to measure professional education of members through authorised activities. To achieve CPAg status, candidates will need to achieve a minimum of 60 CPD points in a calendar year.

“CPD points can be earned by engaging in professional development activities undertaken by AIA and its Divisions across Australia, other organisations and service providers with activities that enhance professional development, and through informal and self-directed activities such as professional reading,” AIA chair, Andrew Bishop, said.

“One of the biggest changes is that completion of CPAg qualification via demonstrated CPD points will be a required part of full AIA membership from 1st January 2019.

“We have installed this requirement as meeting minimum service standards and further professional development is an integral part of the demonstrated professionalism of our full members.”

CPAg consists of an initial application, renewal based on evidence of on-going professional development, and an authorising and auditing process undertaken by an AIA assessment panel of senior member peers and AIA board directors.

Those members who achieve CPAg status are able to use the post-nominals CPAg after their name, use the distinctive CPAg logo on their website, letterheads, email signatures and business cards, and will receive a certificate of recognition, issued annually by the AIA and signed by the Chair of the AIA Board.

AIA members are able to lodge their activities electronically via their membership profile. AIA events will carry distinctive point values and the opportunity will be provided to other like-minded organisations to badge their events with CPAg point values.

“Though this may sound daunting at first, most candidates will find they are completing many relevant activities as part of living their professional life,” Mr Bishop said.

Source: AIA



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Grain Central's news headlines emailed to you -