Hat trick win in NSW wheat championship

Grain Central January 15, 2024

State winners Rob and Mandy Taylor (centre) with AgShows NSW president Jill Chapman, Brendan Munn (Lowes), Suncorp’s Jenny Taylor, Dugald Saunders MP and Dual Chelate’s Youseff Fares.

GRENFELL growers Rob and Mandy Taylor have achieved an outstanding feat by clinching the prestigious AgShows NSW Suncorp Bank Championship Dryland Field Wheat Competition state title for the third consecutive year.

Organised by AgShows NSW, the peak body representing 192 shows, the annual competition recognises excellence in wheat farming across four regions before culminating in a state final.

The Taylors secured their spot at the state finals by outperforming competitors in the central region.

With an impressive point score of 226 for their 7.6 tonne-per-hectare yield, they surpassed Quirindi’s Cory Behsman at Romani Pastoral Co and Cowra’s Tom Johnstone at Illinois Farm in the same region.

Judge Frank McRae of DLF Seeds Australia said the entries selected for the regional finals were of a high standard with excellent agronomic management.

“The regional finalists’ crops were a credit to growers, their advisors and agronomists,” Mr McRae said.

“Most crops were on good rotations with an increasing trend towards double-break crops.

“Many entries showed outstanding yield potential given the low in-crop rainfall recorded during the growing period, and yield potential varied across the state, depending on seasonal conditions.

“The northern region was affected by the extremely dry conditions experienced throughout the year, with many crops failing and others not being sown.

“Late rains before harvest affected the final yield and grain quality of some central and southern crops.”

TJ Dwyer Farming Excellence Award winner Brendan Munn, Jill Chapman, Rhonda and Gary Mickan, Tom Dwyer (presenting award), Youseff Fares, Jenny Taylor (Suncorp Bank), and Dugald Saunders MP.

In the Southern Region, the Mickan Bros from Walbundrie claimed the top spot with a score of 222 points for their 7.4t/ha yield, securing the TJ Dwyer Farming Excellence award.

This region covered a vast area, including Albury, Wagga Wagga, and Young.

AgShows NSW president Jill Chapman and Dugald Saunders MP with northern wheat competition winner Jack Brennan of Paraway Pastoral Co, Youseff Fares (Dual Chelate), and Brendan Munn (Lowes).

Paraway Pastoral Co in Narromine led the northern region with a score of 204 points for their 6.6t/ha yield, surpassing high-scoring competitors from Warialda and Gilgandra.

Sheldon and Rebecca Dalton from Hillston emerged victorious in western NSW with a 6.5t/ha yield and 200 points, showcasing the resilience and innovation of growers in this region.

Gunnedah’s Lambrook Pastoral Co emerged as the state champion in the durum wheat category with a 6.5t/ha yield, scoring 189 points.

The gala dinner in Dubbo was attended by finalists, industry participants, leader of the NSW Nationals and Member for Dubbo Dugald Saunders MP, and Hunter White representing the Royal Agricultural Society of NSW.

AgShows NSW chair of the wheat competition committee, David Herbert, said the competition holds great significance in the industry.

“The Suncorp Bank Championship Dryland Field Wheat Competition underscores the commitment of Australian farmers to excellence and innovation in wheat cultivation,” Mr Herbert said.

“The event not only celebrates achievements but also provides a platform for industry networking and knowledge exchange.”

Source: AgShows NSW


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your comment will not appear until it has been moderated.
Contributions that contravene our Comments Policy will not be published.


Get Grain Central's news headlines emailed to you -